Spotted: The Catholic Cowgirl

There I was, walking into work and minding my own when all of a sudden I was taken to a complete stop. “Holy crap” was the only thing I could mutter. I had come face-to-face with Maureen. It was love at first sight. My heart was fluttering and I simply had to ask, “Where on earth did you get that outfit?”

We’re calling it the Catholic Cowgirl look and really, the name couldn’t be more fitting. It hits all of the criteria: Pleated skirt, check. In plaid, check. Complimentary cardigan, check. Throw in a tie, knee-high socks and Mary Jane saddle shoes and you would have had the real deal. But Maureen is no amateur. This girl has got smarts. Adding the to-die- for boots to this look immediately adds depth, intrigue and what makes it the envy of the office.

The skirt, tank and cardigan all hail from some of our favorite larger chain retailers: Forever 21, H&M and Mango. Maureen takes our own advice of mixing high and low-end pieces when she tied in the Frye boots (Nordstrom) and ring – a stellar gem found at Henri Bendels while we were out in New York.

If you want to mimic this look as much as I do, you can find it all here: Skirt, Boots, Ring, Tank: H&M, Cardigan: Mango (no longer available)

Now, where is my ruler. Maureen – is your hemline no more than 1.5 inches above your knee?

-Ashley

Leave a comment