I Tried It: Stitch Fix

Recently I’ve been throwing a lot of temper tantrums trying to get ready in the morning. This is mainly due to the fact that Minnesota is having the coldest winter in 33 years and I am sick and tired of wearing the same chunky sweaters over and over. As someone who believes in closet purges and donating things I no longer like or don’t wear, after cleansing in the fall and again a few weeks ago I’ve left myself little to wear and am coming to loathe everything I own. However, due to the aforementioned terribly, bitterly cold weather this winter, I’ve had very little desire to leave the house unless absolutely necessary.

All of this lead me to excitedly signing up for Stitch Fix last month. If you’re not familiar, it’s an online-based personal styling service. You complete a style profile indicating your likes, dislikes, appropriate sizes, and what you’re looking for, and then schedule your personal shopping order or “Fix” which includes 5 items either whenever you want one, or you can sign up to get a monthly shipment. You pay a $20 styling fee for each Fix that is credited to your purchase if you choose to keep any items. You get 3 days to try on whatever you receive and decide what you want to you’re going to add to your wardrobe. Anything you don’t want goes back in a pre-paid parcel envelope that’s included in the box. Pretty slick, right?

So anyway, I completed my style profile (which was surprisingly fun) to find out that I had to wait nearly a month before getting my first Fix due to the high demand they’ve been receiving. I put my order through and waited patiently which is not my strongest suit. Today was the day my first Fix finally arrived, and I have to say it was worth the wait. Here’s what I opened the box to find:

20140212-193135.jpg

20140212-193144.jpg

In my profiles notes I had mentioned that I work at an ad agency with a casual dress code. I specified that I wear a lot of skinny jeans and prefer tops that are a bit looser-fitting in the torso. I also provided a link to lovesthat should my stylist want to see some of my previous personal style choices as they thought about what I might like.

Then the fun started. First item out of the box was this bracelet.

20140212-193150.jpg

Bay to Baubles Gatsby Cabochon Stone Statement Bracelet: $28

Upon first glance I thought it was a stretch bracelet and was a bit put off. Nothing screams cheap like stretchy jewelry. Though as a note, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with spending little on clothing or accessories; I just want pieces I choose to at least appear to be of high quality. 

Anyhow, on closer inspection I found that there was in fact a clasp enclosure and that I liked it better on that in the box. I don’t tend to wear a lot of bracelets because my first accessory loves are statement necklaces and rings, and bracelets typically don’t seem to add much. This one though, packs quite a punch and the color scheme makes it quite versatile.

Verdict: Keep.

Next up was this sweater:

20140212-193201.jpg

41Hawthorn Rowson Colorblock Striped Sweater: $58

I loved it from the minute I pulled it out of the box. It fit exactly the way I hoped it would and is a lovely, lightweight material that will be perfect for spring and fall.

Verdict: Keep.

Next up:

20140212-193208.jpg

41Hawthorn Ivy Tulip Print Tab Sleeve Blouse: $68

I wasn’t convinced with this one, but decided to delay judgement until I tried it on. The material is nice and silky, the cut is flowy, and the neckline is cut deep enough to keep the blouse from being overly prudish. I didn’t feel like it did a lot for me overall and the color scheme wasn’t particularly striking (if you haven’t noticed, I enjoy a bit of color).

Verdict: Undecided

The last top was this:

20140212-193214.jpg

Kut From The Kloth Dominick Striped Mixed Material Shirt: $28

It’s a bit difficult to tell, but this shirt is semi-sheer in the front with a plain black sheer back of a different material. It’s recommended to be worn over a cami, but could also be fun with a simple black bra for those with courage. I tried it on (sans cami because I was too lazy) and found the cut to be perfect.

Verdict: Keep.

Finally, the all-important skinny jeans.

20140212-193221.jpg

Kensie Jeans Sophia Skinny Jeans: $88

Since deciding I could and should wear them years ago I have practically lived in skinny jeans. Despite being fairly pear-shaped, I’ve found that a good pair of skinny jeans can work miracles. The trick, of course, is finding a pair that fits, flatters, and for me, doesn’t require tailoring. I know myself well enough to know that (again) I’m far too lazy to take care of that (which is why my parka’s broken zipper has not been fixed after 3 years – I’ve worn it all winter with just the snaps done up).

I pulled the jeans up and on and could immediately tell that they were something special. Slimming, lifting and (most critically) stretchy, they seemed perfect. And then it was time to zip and button them. While doable, it hurt my ego something fierce. You see, I inherited my mother’s body shape, which means that any and all weight gain goes directly to my stomach. My mid-to-late 20s have done me no favors in the metabolism area while my love for wine has increased tenfold in the last few years, so you can only imagine the affect that’s had on my waistline. It’s something that’s been nagging at me recently and that I’ve decided needs to be taken care of swiftly and with as little pain and suffering as possible (how that will be accomplished I’ve yet to decide, other than starting with a 3-day juice cleanse – more on that soon).

Knowing how difficult it is to find a good, well-fitting pair of jeans and knowing these are 95% of the way there, I decided they would be my motivation as I force myself to eat and drink a little less and exercise a bit more.

Verdict: Keep.

Finally, a styling card was included, providing ideas and guidance on how to create outfits with each piece.

20140212-193237.jpg

After looking at it I decided to give the tulip blouse another try with a bright cardigan and liked the look. I then attempted wearing it instead with bright jeans and found that really make a difference.

Looking at the invoice or packing slip included, the total of my 5 items was $270. The $20 styling credit was applied (assuming I would keep anything sent), and the “Buy All Discount” was shown, bringing the total down to $187.50 (if you choose to keep everything in the Fix you receive a 25% discount off the total). The net-net was that the discount and the cost of the tulip blouse were within a few dollars. Touché, StitchFix.

So there you have it. My first Fix was a resounding success, and I’m keeping it all. Now I just have to prevent myself from ordering another Fix right away…

Want to try it yourself? Use my referral link and I’ll get a $25 credit. It’s good karma, I promise.

— Maureen

One thought on “I Tried It: Stitch Fix

Leave a Reply

