Rain, Rain, Stay Away

Italy planning is in full swing as it’s now under 2 months away from my big vacation. Planning is a large part of my career, and something I’m naturally inclined to do based on my Type A personality (just ask Ashley about the itinerary I made for our first trip to NYC together a few years ago). I know some people don’t like to travel this way, but it gives me comfort to know that exactly 2 months from today I’ll be climbing the Cupola of the Duomo at approximately 9a.

Needless to say, in my goal of packing a single carryon-sized bag for the two weeks I have researched average high and low temps for each of the cities we’re visiting along with average rainfall levels (it’s all incorporated into my itinerary spreadsheet). Since we’ll be traveling during the first half of October we can anticipate that we’ll likely run into a decent amount of rainfall.

As I mentioned in this post, I get pretty grumpy about getting caught in the rain (having wet feet is a major pet peeve of mine), so obviously I’m starting to think through how to head off a total meltdown in the likely event of rain.  Lightweight, packable rain boots and coat are a must – while I want to stay as dry and comfortable as possible, I can’t pack my existing rain boots (love them as I do) since they would take up half of my luggage space.

I have my eye on these Hunter “Tour” Packable Rain Boots. I’ve never owned Hunters but with the kind of cult following they have I’m sure it’s a safe bet. The only issue is trying to decide what color I want (I’m debating between green, navy and black), but I’ll need to think through what else I’m packing before making the ultimate decision. 

Hunter Tour

I find rain coats to be trickier since there are so many style and length options, but my priority is a lightweight, easily packable jacket with a hood. This way I can easily stow it in my purse while we’re out and about so it’s handy should a shower pop up without feeling encumbered. This one is currently at the top of my list:

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 4.02.12 PM

And although Matt doesn’t think he needs any rainy-day apparel, I’m thinking ahead for him too. He may refuse rain footwear (I’ve never seen him wear rain boots or galoshes in the 9 years we’ve been together), but I’ll make sure he has a decent jacket whether he wants it or not.

For him I’m leaning toward this Rainforest jacket (from the same company as my potential coat above) which is waterproof, windproof and also helps retain warmth during chilly evenings:

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 4.02.53 PM

Hopefully with these few pieces we’ll be able to enjoy Italy rain or shine without any foot stomping – except maybe in a few puddles.

— Maureen

2 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, Stay Away

  1. I’m with you. Wet feet is not fun at all. The foldable hunter boots have intrigued me. I tend to wear my boots to and from work, but then change into other shoes when I get to the office.

Leave a Reply

