They Call Me The Seeker; I’ve Been Searching Low And High

You know that phenomenon where if you’re shopping for something specific, you’re guaranteed not to find it? That’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Don’t get me wrong – I’ve found plenty of shopping success, but just not with the intended items. The trouble is, I’ll buy things that catch my eye all day long but when there’s something I’m actively shopping for, I won’t buy anything until I’ve found the perfect whatever-I’m-shopping for.

I’ve been on the hunt for quite some time for a number of wardrobe staples: white button down shirt, chambray shirt, flowy silk shirt, red blazer, and timeless nude pumps. In theory, these things should all be easy to find; in reality, it’s much harder than it seems. I feel a bit like Goldilocks, except with a broader spectrum of issues: length/height, fit, fabric, color – it’s a bit more complicated than too hard or too soft. Maybe I’m being too picky, but I won’t give up or buy anything until I’ve found something just right.

On the flip side, while I was unsuccessfully shopping for these pieces, I still came away with plenty of other things I wasn’t looking for and don’t necessarily need. Off the top of my head, this included a pair of earrings, a tank, two striped Ts, a plain T, two dresses, a floral romper (my first!), two belts (bright mint and coral), and three cardigans in emerald, orange and lavender. Yeah, I think it’s safe to declare my New Year’s resolution to quell my shopaholic tendencies dead.

— Maureen

Leave a Reply

