Shopping Confession: Beauty Overhaul

Not long ago I popped into Macy’s with the intention of picking up a new lipstick – Bobbi Brown Rich Lip Color with SPF 12 in Sweet Nectar, to be exact. A bright, punchy pink/coral shade, Sweet Nectar is my must-have lip color for this summer.

While I was there, the salesperson showed me the Best of Bobbi set that cost $60 with $30 of proceeds going to Dress for Success.

This amazing set includes:

  • High Shimmer Lip Gloss in Bellini
  • Lash Glamour Extreme Lengthening Mascara
  • Best of Bobbi Eye Shadow Palette
  • Long Wear Gel Eyeliner and Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush

You know I’m a sucker for buying products that benefit good causes, so out I walked feeling good about adding some great staples to my collection while supporting Dress For Success.

Shortly after my Macy’s trip, my mother-in-law asked me to go shopping for new makeup with her. Off we went to Sephora where we emerged loaded down with more new beauty goodies than we had anticipated purchasing (but isn’t that how it always goes?).
Empowered by my recent Macy’s purchases, I felt it was time to update and upgrade my makeup arsenal. I was looking for lightweight, oil-free products that would provide just enough coverage to give me a flawless base without feeling heavy or making me look made up. Here’s what I landed on (and love) all from Benefit:

The POREfessional primer: minimizes the appearance of pores and acts as a primer to keep makeup in place all day long.

Boi-ing concealer: for those days where a cup of coffee just won’t do.

Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow liquid foundation :super light, a little goes a long way but can also build for heavier coverage when or where needed.

Brow Zings brow shaping kit: I’ve decided to embrace the current full brow trend, and this compact little set gives me everything I need. Included are a wax, powder, 2 brushes, and a mini Tweezerman for plucking unsightly strays.

While makeup is fun, having flawless skin rather than using a lot of products to create the appearance of beautiful skin is the ultimate goal. To that end, I also picked up a Clarisonic Mia 2 cleansing system and quickly became obsessed.

I love knowing that the vibration clears deep down into pores and buffs away dead skin, leaving behind a new soft complexion. The Mia 2 version has a second speed for when I want an extra-thorough cleanse and also comes with a handy travel case, making it easier than ever to keep up on my routine even while out and about. I chose the pink version because a portion of the proceeds goes to the National Breast Cancer Foundation.

So there you have it – my new beauty booty.

— Maureen

Leave a Reply

