Are You There Shoes? It’s Me, Maureen.

Finally, I have another NYC trip to look forward to! I’d be more excited if I weren’t so preoccupied thinking about what shoes I’ll be packing (never mind that I’m not going for 2 1/2 months). The thing is, I don’t have any shoes I can realistically spend all day walking in while dressed in my usual uniform of dress/cardi combo.

Styles that are up my aisle don’t bode well for long days of pounding the pavement from Soho to 5th Ave., but I’m making it my mission to find just the right pair of shoes by mid-June. Of course, the trickiest part is building just the right vacation wardrobe spanning 7 days around a minimal number of footwear choices. After all, I have to leave room for new purchases.

At the top of my consideration list are these gorgeous J. Crew Lula Bow Ballet Flats in Pearl (which also come in a gorgeous mint green).

While I’m a firm believer in trying on shoes before committing, these beauties are only available online. Looks like I may have to take a leap of faith and hope it works out. But let’s be honest, even if they’re not the perfect walking shoes I’d like for them to be, chances are as long as they fit and are as comfy as they look, the one place they won’t be going is back to J. Crew.

I’m getting ahead of myself though – this isn’t a shopping confession yet. For now I’m going to continue my tireless search for the mythological cute/comfortable/go with everything pair of shoes. I know they’re out there somewhere.

— Maureen

Leave a Reply

