Bumble And Bumble: You Are A Friend Of Mine

Let’s talk about hair. I talk about hair all of the time. Why? Because it helps define who you are. How you act, think about yourself and how others perceive you. Sounds shallow? Maybe, but it’s true. When you meet someone face-to-face for the first time, over 90% of how you are judged is based on non-verbal cues. Not enough time to get to know your killer personality.

Consider any sort of makeover show – the locks are almost always the big crescendo. Ta-da! Beautiful! Work it! Or, on the flip side, instant devastation. Take a look at America’s Next Top Model. The makeover portion always has me on my toes. What Parisian chic hair style will Tyra land on each of the girls this time? Unfortunately, for many of these unsuspecting victims, this means chopping off ALL of their locks (Yiiiiikes. Pass the brown paper bag). It’s no surprise when those poor things break into sobbing messes. I feel for them. I, too, have been a victim of a bad haircut circa 2008. Ever since, I have had an irrational fear of haircuts. I suspect those ladies will have similar journey on the road to recovery.

Growing up, my cousins always teased me that I had horse hair. And in retrospect, they were pretty spot on (doesn’t make me cry anymore though).  It’s fairly thick and fairly coarse. So, this has forced me to work with what I’ve got. My personal favorite styling product is Bumble and Bumble’s surf spray. This is a saltwater-based styling spray that adds volume & texture to your hair. According to B&B themselves, it gives you that nice ‘wind-blown’ feel.  I couldn’t agree more, which I love because I naturally tend to gravitate towards wavy, somewhat unkempt and easy hairstyles. It works with the natural feel of my hair and makes the day-to-day so much simpler.

So girls (and guys) – work with what you were born with. Whether it be fine, thick, wavy, coarse, thin, curly, frizzy or just perfect. Find the products that work best for you.  I recommend taking a look at Bumble and Bumble’s entire line. Check out their website here: www.bumbleandbumble.com And, right now there is free overnight shippping & samples with any order. Just in time to look extra beautiful for that special someone. Just enter FASHION at checkout.

They  have products for each hair type and might I mention, they all smell pretty great.

XO, Ashley

Leave a Reply

