Getting A Jump Start On Spring Cleaning? Don’t Forget About Soles4Souls.

A while ago we posted about Soles4Souls, a charity that collects shoe donations and distributes them to people in need all over the world.

With true winter weather settling in, I took the opportunity last weekend to stay in and do some pre-spring cleaning. On the docket was cleaning out my shoe closet(s) and weeding out any flip flop, wedge or boot I haven’t worn in a while. Now I wont lie – I sometimes have minor hoarding tendencies, so it’s not always easy for me to cleanse my life of “stuff.”

Sidebar: I spent 3 hours deep-cleaning the bathroom, including going through and organizing every last drawer. I found at least half a dozen nearly-empty soap bottles that were never thrown out – possibly for fear that there would be a soap crisis situation and ever last drop would count? I also did a purge of old makeup and nail polish. If you haven’t done something like this in the last 6 months, I totally recommend it – SO cathartic.

Anyhow, as part of my New Year’s resolutions mantras I’m trying to live more simply this year, so de-cluttering is key. At the end of my purge, I had 4 large shopping bags full of clothes going to Goodwill, and 18 pairs of shoes to be delivered to a Soles4Souls drop off location.

If like me, you find yourself with a little cabin fever and a hankering to cleanse your closet, please consider donating any footwear (for men, women or children) in good condition to Soles4Souls. Yours won’t be the only life that will improve.

For more information on Soles4Souls and to find a drop off location, visit: http://www.soles4souls.org/

–Maureen

Leave a Reply

