My Real(istic) Gift Wish-List

Here on lovesthat, we’re all about being an open book. We’ll show you what we love, what we bought, and (most of the time) how much it cost. So today, you get to see what’s on my Christmas wish-list (just the fun stuff though – you probably don’t care that I asked for a microplane zester).

Now, it probably seems like nearly all of my posts are about what people can buy me (as evidenced herehere, and here for example), but this time it’s legit. My family has been positively hounding me for my Christmas list and my deadline is today (it’s a sad state when I don’t have time to shop – I was in NY most of last week for work and didn’t so much as step foot into a store. It was tragic).

So here’s what I’m hoping for this year. It’s going to seem like a lot, but I see it as more of a registry: you don’t expect to receive everything, and it’s more fun offering up a lot of options and still being surprised when you open your gifts. I know to a lot people probably hate the idea of providing a list too (and maybe even think it’s tacky), but here’s my (and my family’s) feeling on this: you want to give gifts that you know your recipient will love, and that isn’t easy; and you want to receive gifts that you’ll love so you don’t have to pretend you don’t hate it for fear of hurting someone’s feelings. It’s all about open communication, really. There’s no point in not telling your parents you really, really want that bag or boots or whatever and just hoping they’ll somehow know. Chances are you’ll end up with a sweater that ends up getting shoved to the back of your closet.

Alright, that’s enough chatter. This year for me, it’s about adding to my jewelry and accessories arsenal with a mix of classic and trendy pieces. In other words, it’s a lot of bling.

Dana Rebecca Designs “Lauren Joy” necklace in rose gold or yellow gold: $275

Givenchy Crystal Station Long Necklace in Gold/Crystal: $95

Nadri Pavé Bangles in Rose Gold or Gold: $58/each

Michael Kors Pave Ball Stud Earrings: $65

Halogen “Equestrian Airy” Wrap in Black/Sheer Grey, Camel/Heather Brown, Heather Brown/Heather Oat, or Oat/Winter White: currently $43.90 (50% off)

Henri Bendel 1895 Narrow Hinged Enamel Bangle in Black/Gold: $78

Black Bearpaw Emma Tall Boot: $75

J Crew “Jackie” cardigan in black or navy: $62

*Take 25% off all J Crew online orders today with code “MERRY”

That’s it! I didn’t have much time to give it a lot of thought, and I’m sure I’ll be mentally adding right up until the moment I’m opening gifts. But who knows – maybe someone will decide to go off-list and surprise me with the perfect thing I didn’t think of.

— Maureen

Leave a Reply

