What’s A Girl Gotta Do To Get A Chic Work Bag Around Here?

I’ve been looking for a bag that can carry my laptop and other work accouterments. It should be simple, but that’s where the trouble comes in. The second you think whatever you’re shopping for should be a quick and easy find, you’re screwed. And that’s where I am right now.

It all began a week ago when I started a new job (yes, Ashley and I are suffering from separation anxiety from no longer working together, but we’ll survive). Based on a couple of factors, I decided that it’s become necessary to get a work-specific bag that can transport my laptop, notebook, calculator and so forth. I figured it shouldn’t be too difficult of a task. I mean, I fall in love with a new handbag nearly every day so there must be plenty of great work bags out there, right? Not exactly.

I did some extensive online research (shopping) and soon realized the problem – if you’re looking for something to hold your laptop and only your laptop, there are loads of cute options. Not true if you’re going for a carryall; the majority are bulky and remind me of something my dad would use. A trip to the mall confirmed my suspicions.

What I’m going for is sophisticated yet stylish – preferably a large satchel that’s tote-like in shape but with top handles as well as a longer strap. Apparently this doesn’t exist because I’ve yet to find one that I like. This is like my longed-for dove gray suede Mary Jane wedges all over again (but don’t even get me started on that).

Do you have a work bag you love? Please, PLEASE tell me all about it if you do.

— Maureen

2 thoughts on “What’s A Girl Gotta Do To Get A Chic Work Bag Around Here?

Leave a Reply

