Let’s Get Real: Fashion Blunders

We told you lovesthat is about celebrating individual style and there’s no right or wrong way to express yourself. We believe this, we really do. But there are times when we see things that make us shake our heads and say “no.” I mean, we are human.

I’m bringing this up because in the last 12 hours I’ve seen 3 things that need to be discussed. You may disagree with me, which is fine – everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I’m simply telling you mine. So here are the 3 no-nos I want to talk about today:

1. Velour track suits

2. Men’s sandals

3. Men’s metallic sunglasses

Okay, let’s start from the top with velour track suits. I am quite simply not a fan of these, but understand that many people are. If you’re going to wear one just please make sure it’s at the appropriate place and time.

Last night I went to TLC’s Cake Boss Buddy Valastro’s show at the Orpheum Theatre downtown. Buddy did a lot with audience participation and one woman came on stage in a brown velour track suit. While it wasn’t a “fancy” show, we feel pretty strongly that any time you set foot in an establishment like a theatre, you should at least be presentable. She probably felt just fine about her outfit choice, but I was embarrassed for her.

Next up: men’s sandals. Sandals can be tricky for guys. I get that. But my gripe is about more than just a pair of ugly sandals. It’s about ugly sandals that I saw on a man today. On the way into work. When it’s 29 degrees out. That’s an all-around bad idea.

Finally, why is it metallic sunglasses still exist? It’s not even that some guys still wear their sunglasses from the 90s – they are still actually being sold today. Here’s our advice guys: steer clear. They’re terrible.

The fact that someone might even consider paying $90 for these sunglasses is frightening.

Phew, glad to get that off my chest. But in all seriousness, if even one person out there can be helped by this post, I’d consider that a huge success.

–Maureen

One thought on “Let’s Get Real: Fashion Blunders

Leave a Reply

