Hair Made Simple

One of the first books (real book) I ever read was Anne of Green Gables.  I was mesmerized. And I mean mesmerized. I loved the characters, the story, the romanticism. As if I (or my parents) thought it was possible, once my little eyes laid sight on the movie – everything got 10x better.  True with all movies that stem from a book, I could finally put a face to the personalities I loved. But what really struck me was the fashion.  Turns out I loved Victorian fashion. I loved the big hats, the tea parties, the puffed sleeves. But mostly, I loved the way the girls wore their hair. It was so elegant, always tied back with a lovely bow or hair pin. Simple, yet beautiful.

 You can probably guess where this is going. Throughout my childhood I, too, wore my hair like those Anne of Green Gables characters. When my parents took me to Prince Edward Island to tour the real ‘Green Gables,’ I was dressed for the part – to. the. nines.

All of this remains some of my most special memories. So when I saw this picture, I could not help but reminisce.  And I can’t help but want to wear my hair like this again tomorrow.

-Ashley

One thought on “Hair Made Simple

  1. Really loved reading this. It bought back such wonderful memories of one of our best road trips! My heart is smiling xoxo

Leave a Reply

